While I completed the knitting of my Peaks Island Hood and my Scroll Lace Scarf a while ago, I just now got around to blocking them. I’m awful when it comes to taking the time to block and a lot of times, I don’t do it *gasp*…just like I hardly ever swatch *double gasp*. But these items are both 100% wool so I figured I’d better do it. Plus they’ve been sitting around my home getting dirty with pet hair and what not so it’s probably a good idea to wash them.

Scroll Lace Scarf

Scroll Lace Scarf -- blocking

Peaks Island Hood -- blocking

Peaks Island Hood -- blocking

See, proof that they both got blocked!

I also knitted a lil’ baby sweater for my lil’ derby sister, Monica. She’s suffering from that damn 9 month injury and I needed to make something extra special to cheer her up. So what better than the Mini Moustache Sweater in Mo’s favorite color (and mine) pink.

Mini Mustache Sweater

Mini Mustache Sweater

I really enjoyed the yarn for this (Filatura Di Crosa Zara DK) and it is supposed to be washer and dryer friendly, so perfect for a baby. It’s really soft and knits up nicely. Overall, I’m pretty pleased with how this turned out. The only thing I don’t like about it, is the intarsia in the round. It NEVER works! So while it’s picture-perfect in the front, I have all these floats along the back. Such a bummer. I’m going to wash it and see if it improves any. If not, I’m cutting the floats and just weaving in all the ends. If I were to do it again, I’d knit the sweater plain and do duplicate stitch embroidery on the front.

I also have two new works-in-progress: Damson Shawl/Kerchief (I will be wearing it as a kerchief) by Ysolda, and the Dragon Scarf from Piecework magazine. I’m pretty close to being finished with Damson, which is good because I can’t wait to wear it, and I just started the Dragon Scarf. I splurged BIG TIME on the yarn for that (Filatura di Crosa’s Golden Line Superior which is 70% cashmere, 25% silk, 5% merino). I’ve never, ever knit with such amazing yarn before, so even though it’s a slow-going lace pattern on size 3 needles, I’m enjoying just touching the yarn. Here’s sneak peek at it:

Dragon Scarf

Dragon Scarf

